Showing 1-30 of 125 results

Effects Of World War 1 And 2 Shopping Deals on 23.01.2020 at TOPPIDUS

  • The Ghost Army of World War II: How One Top-Secret Unit Deceived the Enemy with Inflatable Tanks, Sound Effects, and Other Audacious Fakery

    "The Ghost Army of World War II describes a perfect example of a little-known, highly imaginative, and daring maneuver that helped open the way for the final drive to Germany. It is a riveting tale told through personal accounts and sketches along the way—ultimately, a story of success against great odds. I enjoyed it enormously." – Tom BrokawIn the summer of 1944, a handpicked group of young GIs—including such future luminaries as Bill Blass, Ellsworth Kelly, Arthur Singer, Victor Dowd, Art Kane, and Jack Masey—landed in France to cond...

    • ASIN: 1616893184
    • Brand: Princeton Architectural Press
    • UPC: 884918988304

  • The Alice Network: A Novel

    Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER#1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLEROne of NPR's Best Books of the Year!One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year!Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick!The 2017 Girly Book Club Book of the Year!A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two ...

    • ASIN: 0062654195
    • Brand: MORROW

  • The War Stage (The War Planners Book 2)

    From USA Today bestselling author and former US Navy pilot Andrew Watts comes a series made for fans of Tom Clancy and Vince Flynn."Frighteningly real."From a secretive jungle-covered island in the Pacific, to the sands of the Middle East. From the smog-filled alleyways of China, to the passageways of a US Navy destroyer. The War Planners series follows different members of the military and intelligence community as they uncover a Chinese plot to begin the next world war, and attack America.________________________________________Book 2: The Wa...

    • ASIN: B01C1VB2MK

  • World War I and America: Told By the Americans Who Lived It (LOA #289) (Library of America (Hardcover))

    For the centenary of America's entry into World War I, A. Scott Berg presents a landmark anthology of American writing from the cataclysmic conflict that set the course of the 20th century. Few Americans appreciate the significance and intensity of America's experience of World War I, the global cataclysm that transformed the modern world. Published to mark the centenary of the U.S. entry into the conflict, World War I: Told by the Americans Who Lived It brings together a wide range of writings by American participants and observers to te...

    • ASIN: 1598535145
    • Brand: LIBRARY OF AMER

  • The Chalky Sea: An epic story of war's impact on ordinary people (The Canadians Book 1)

    Two troubled people in a turbulent world.In July 1940, Gwen Collingwood drops her husband at the railway station, knowing she may never see him again. Two days later her humdrum world is torn apart when the sleepy English seaside town where she lives is subjected to the first of many heavy bombing attacks.In Ontario, Canada, Jim Armstrong is debating whether to volunteer. His decision becomes clear when he uncovers the secret his fiancée has been keeping from him. A few weeks later he is on a ship bound for England.Gwen is forced to confront ...

    • ASIN: B071J8J3ZK

  • Lilac Girls: A Novel

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroli...

    • ASIN: 1101883081
    • Brand: Ballantine Books

  • Archive of World War Two - Victory at Sea - Parts 1 to 4


    • ASIN: B007BBIBM0

  • The Complete Maus

    The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler’s Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father’s story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in “drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust” (The New York Times).Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek’s harrowing story of survival is woven into the author’s ...

    • ASIN: 0679406417
    • Brand: PANTHPEON
    • UPC: 000679406417

  • Fear: A Novel of World War I (New York Review Books Classics)

    An NYRB Classics Original Winner of the Scott Moncrieff Prize for Translation1915: Jean Dartemont heads off to the Great War, an eager conscript. The only thing he fears is missing the action. Soon, however, the vaunted “war to end all wars” seems like a war that will never end: whether mired in the trenches or going over the top, Jean finds himself caught in the midst of an unimaginable, unceasing slaughter. After he is wounded, he returns from the front to discover a world where no one knows or wants to know any of this. Both the public a...

    • ASIN: 1590177169

  • Pandora's Box: A History of the First World War

    “A major contribution…the best large-scale synthesis in any language of what we currently know and understand about this multidimensional, cataclysmic conflict.”―Richard J. Evans, Times Literary SupplementIn this monumental history of the First World War, Germany’s leading historian of the twentieth century’s first great catastrophe explains the war’s origins, course, and consequences. With an unrivaled combination of depth and global reach, Pandora’s Box reveals how profoundly the war shaped the world to come.Jörn Leonhard tre...

    • ASIN: 0674545117

  • The Ghost Army of World War II : How One Top-Secret Unit Deceived the Enemy with Inflatable Tanks, Sound Effects, and Other Audacious Fakery

    9781616893187

    • UPC: 40792438
    • Rating: 3.5

  • Spearhead : An American Tank Gunner, His Enemy, and a Collision of Lives in World War II

    From the New York Times bestselling author of A Higher Call comes the riveting World War II story of an American tank gunner's journey into the heart of the Third Reich, where he will meet

    • UPC: 461265393
    • Rating: 5.0

  • Soaring to Glory : A Tuskegee Airman's Firsthand Account of World War II

    9781621579519

    • UPC: 724875128

  • The Forgotten 500 : The Untold Story of the Men Who Risked All for the Greatest Rescue Mission of World War II

    In 1944, the OSS set out to recover more than 500 airmen who had been trapped behind enemy lines in Yugoslavia. Classified for over half a century for political reasons, the full account of this

    • UPC: 10076289
    • Rating: 3.833

  • Shadow Divers : The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

    Two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery surrounding the wreckage of a World War II German U-boat off the coast of New Jersey, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of

    • UPC: 3430211
    • Rating: 4.417

  • The Storm on Our Shores : One Island, Two Soldiers, and the Forgotten Battle of World War II

    The Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author of the best-selling The Big Year traces how a World War II soldier's discoveries in a Japanese surgeon's diary helped change a war-torn America's perceptions of Japan. 150,000 first

    • UPC: 32979231
    • Rating: 5.0

  • A Higher Call : An Incredible True Story of Combat and Chivalry in the War-Torn Skies of World War II

    Relates the true story of two World War II airmen, one American and one German, who put aside the conflict and helped each other to safety in the wake of a damaged aircraft and describes

    • UPC: 22750375
    • Rating: 4.5

  • D-Day : June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II

    Chronicles the events, politics, and personalities of this pivotal day in World War II, shedding light on the strategies of commanders on both sides and the ramifications of the

    • UPC: 376758
    • Rating: 4.056

  • Unexplained Mysteries of World War II

    This is the first comprehensive book on the intriguing arena of the mysterious, baffling, and oddly coincidental events during World War II. No other book looks at these fascinating unexplainable occurrences, which are recounted vividly

    • UPC: 433570
    • Rating: 2.5

  • Left for Dead at Nijmegen : The True Story of an American Paratrooper in World War II

    The true story of an American paratrooper who had a unique encounter during Operation Market Garden and his experiences as a

    • UPC: 657636622
    • Rating: 5.0

  • WW1. YPRES. 2 PCs. THE BEFORE AND AFTER EFFECT OF SHELLING ON THE GATE OF LILLE.

    • UPC: 202733907577
    • Category: World War I (1914-1918)
    • Price: 1 GBP

  • The Effects of World War 1

    Effects Of World War 1 And 2
    World War 1,Effects of World War 1,WW1,Mandates,Women's Rights,Total War,Planned Econom...

    World War I - summary of the "Great War"

    Effects Of World War 1 And 2
    WWI,World War One,World War 1,Great War,War,Summary,summarized,causes,origins,developme...

    Archdukes, Cynicism, and World War I: Crash Course World History #36

    Effects Of World War 1 And 2
    John Green,crash course,world history,austria-hungary,WWI,AP,WHAP,World War I,Flanders,...